Gluten free Chocolate Chip Cookies

I found this recipe on Pinterest today; and decided I had to make it! It turned out really well; not my absolute favorite cookie recipe, but really good. I’ll post my favorite one next (: 
2 1/4 cups  gluten-freeflour blend 
1/2 tsp. xanthan gum (omit if gf flour blend has xanthan or guar gum already)1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

2 ounces lactose-free cream cheese, room temp

3/4 cups unsalted butter, melted

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 egg yolks (room temp)

2 cups semi-sweet  dairy free chocolate chips

First is the addition of cream cheese. I found this tip in this recipe from Just a Taste and thought it was worth a try. That small 2 ounces of cream cheese is just enough to cover any grit that would have been in these cookies otherwise. I wish I had thought of this many years ago!

Melting the butter is another key to this perfect cookie, as it adds to the chewiness and overall flavor profile. I have not tried making these dairy-free, as the cream cheese and melted butter are essential to these turning out perfect for me. Feel free to make some adaptations to suit you though, and come back and let me know how they work!

Using just egg yolks, no egg whites to help with the chewiness of the cookie. This is an old trick I learned from Alton Brown. I like to use an egg separator so that I don’t end up with any stray shells or break the yolks in the process. This is the egg separator I have and like because it sits flat over a small bowl or glass.

Using a good quality all-purpose gluten-free flour blend. Stay away from the blends that are primarily rice flour or that have any bean flours. I’ve had best results making this with Gluten Free Mama’s Almond Blend, and recently tried with Cup4Cup gluten-free flour with great results too. (Note, usually gfJules is one of my go-to blends, but it is a little too starchy to get the right chewy texture with gooey center in this recipe. It still makes a very good cookie, just won’t be as chewy or gooey.) I will update this as I try it with other flour blends as well.

Chill the dough at least 4 hours before baking any cookies. These will not come out like my photos or with best texture if you bake these without chilling thoroughly. You can also chill for 3 days, or you can scoop immediately and freeze the balls of dough to bake later.

One thought on “Gluten free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

